Improving replayability

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Val
Inserter
Inserter

Improving replayability

Post by Val »

<tl;dr> No matter how randomly generated a map is, it doesn't have enough influence on the gameplay, making the playing of each map too similar </tl;dr>

When I first started playing Factorio, I was amazed, and spent many hours building my first factories. However, after starting a third game, a horrible thought occurred to me: I started losing interest in it. Far from being a critique of the game (I still think it's an amazing game, and I didn't regret buying it), I intend this post to show some issues which might be useful in improving replayability.

What happens if I start a new game as not a complete beginner? Independent of how the map is generated and where the resources are,
- I first make a starter base, with the resources available nearby. It is guaranteed that at least a little bit of every resource is around the starting location, and this is a good thing, as it would not add much to the gameplay if I have to spend a lot of time running around at the very beginning.
- This starter base is enough to make building materials and the first very basic research topics
- After this, if the location of the starter base is not the most optimal, I search for a large, unobstructed area, preferably having oil and some water nearby, the main point is that it should be a large land area.
- To this large area I import iron and copper plates via train from the largest mineral deposits I can find.
- After that, I build almost the exact same factory I built on my last playthrough, with at most very minor optimizations.